Parliament oil committee named

The new Parliament has approved members to the energy committee, which could shepherd major legislation including the stalled oil law.
Iraqi Parliament Speaker Osama Al-Nujaifi (L) and Prime Minister Nuri al-Maliki hold a press conference in Baghdad Dec. 20, 2010, after Maliki presented part of his new government to Parliament. (AFP/Getty Images)

BAGHDAD - Parliament has named 16 people to the Oil and Energy Committee, which will be dominated by Prime Minister Nouri al-Maliki's National Alliance block.

Leadership of the committee will go to either the Kurdistan Alliance, which represents Iraq's semi-autonomous northern region, or the Iraqiya block, which is led by former Prime Minister Ayad Allawi. Whichever political block doesn't head Parliament's Legal Committee will get to name the Oil and Energy Committee chairman, officials said.

This content is for registered users. Please login to continue.
If you are not a registered user, you may purchase a subscription or sign up for a free trial.